Home Page

Meet the Governors



Welcome to the Governors' section.


We invite you to take a moment to see what the role of a Governor is. We work very closely, together, with the Headteacher and staff to provide the best education possible for our pupils.We are regularly looking for committed parents to become Governors. Whether you are considering the role for yourself or are just keen to learn more about what we do, we hope that you find this section of interest.

The Role of a Governor


As a governor within the Hackness and Wykeham Church Schools' Federation we work with the school on strategic planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review so that all our children achieve their full potential. Governors also monitor and evaluate progress towards the school's priorities and targets.


We are here to monitor and challenge and work together with the Headteacher and her staff to ensure that all pupils receive the best possible education. We should not be involved in the day to day running of the school, or try to be, and should at all times respect the professionalism of the Headteacher and her staff.

The school has a very active and supportive governing body that work closely with the staff of the schools. Our Chair of Governors is Mr Chris Garforth who can be contacted through the school office.


Our full Governing Body meets each half term, as well as participating and being invited to numerous events across the academic year.


Please meet the appointed Governors of the Hackness and Wykeham Church Schools' Federation 



CHAIR                                   Mr Chris Garforth


HEADTEACHER                     Mr Lee Talbot


STAFF GOVERNOR                Mrs Ashley Irvin


FOUNDATION                        Mrs Valerie Bolton

                                             Mrs Janet Crossley (Vice Chair)


LA GOVERNOR                      Dr Ed Smith


PARENT GOVERNORS           Mrs Liz Moody

                                             Mr Craig Gaskell


CO-OPTED GOVERNORS      Mrs Karen Price

                                             Mrs Rowena Thorp

                                             Mrs Jayne Tweddell

                                             Mrs Rosemary Sword


CLERK                                   Mrs Helen Evans